Friends, Fashion , Fun and Feelgood Factor

I’ve been a bit busy and to be perfectly honest , a bit of a grump. In the last few weeks we’ve had Christmas and New Year and through it all I’ve been feeling rather low. In the spirit of being authentic,  which I am currently embracing, rather than being Internet positive for show, I’m holding on to the truth as I’ve witnessed how telling the truth can be extraordinarily powerful. But that story is for another time.

Before the Christmas /Festive period/menopausal blues hit, I had rather a wonderful time . ( See, it’s not all doom and gloom and poor me, this authentic thing) The auction of my two pieces of wearable art , made with the gorgeous offcuts of Tengri Yak cashmere fibre,

took place at the Bookabeat Christmas party at the very lovely Century Club , Soho, along with a fashion show ( done in my way) to showcase some of my wearable art creations so far. And it was f***ing fabulous, even if I do say so myself. (I’ll let you judge for yourself in the photos later on in this post. Do let me know what you think.)  I believe that fashion belongs to everyone , not just the industry and those who fit the western standard beauty paradigm, so I was never going to look exclusively to professional models to strut on my catwalk, oh no! ( Although, ahem… a slight disclaimer here, I’m lucky enough to know one or two professional models in my friendship circle who have and do model for me but even they have something deliciously unique about them that makes them stand out). I require human beings to show off my wearable art, preferably human beings whom I love and want to celebrate. So I put out a call on social media for anyone who wanted to help me. I was absolutely spoiled for choice ( lucky me) and I had to turn a few away with the promise of next time. I think this approach is called authentic diversity, which is the absolute opposite of tokenism, which is a rather distasteful and patronising way of going about things. I was also very lucky to have the offer of photography by the very talented Rupert Hitchcox who took the most astonishing photographs at the Vaults Exhibition back in November. What a night that was. I’ll never forget it.

Fast forward to the evening of the party, my delightful friends all arrived all beady eyed and bushy tailed , ready to do their thing. I chose outfits for everyone , did some very basic make up , involving a cotton reel and some face paints ( my children’s entertainer skills came in handy here)

734786_1655792814703940_603030752618842109_n

Don’t you just love the face I’m pulling?

everyone chose accessories to go with what they were wearing (everyone is encouraged to express themselves through my wearable art, not my dictating how it should be worn, it’s part of the ethos of the brand) . Headdresses were mostly by Pearls and Swine and Hysteria Machine , both companies run by wonderful women, both friends and fellow creatives.

Then we did a very quick walk through of what was required to showcase the wearable art. It was all fun and games.

Then it was on with the show. We stomped, we gave fierce face, we smiled , we flaunted, we paraded and we showed London how we do. The tribe represented! To say I was proud would be an understatement. And you know how you see backstage at regular fashion shows how everyone is stressed and bitching and fighting? Well, it wasn’t like that at all. We had a blast. I mean, how hard can it be to wear some clothes and walk up and down a room to a stomping beat? Here are the pictures. Let me know your comments below.

Diane Goldie fashion show at the Century Club on Shaftesbury Avenue

Here I am showing off.

Diane Goldie fashion show at the Century Club on Shaftesbury Avenue

Lolo wearing a Frida influenced dress and Day of Dead inspired cape.

Diane Goldie fashion show at the Century Club, Shaftesbury Avenue, London

Lolo wearing Frida orange dress and brown psychedelic Erykah Badu coat.

Diane Goldie fashion show at the Century Club, Shaftesbury Avenue, London

Jack in a Frida neckpiece and c.Art rock jacket. Headdress by Pearls and Swine

Diane Goldie fashion show at the Century Club, Shaftesbury Avenue, London

Deborah working a Frida Kaftan dress , kimono and coordinating fleece hooded cape.

Diane Goldie fashion show at the Century Club, Shaftesbury Avenue, London

The back of the fleece cape.

Diane Goldie fashion show at the Century Club, Shaftesbury Avenue, London

Scorpio wearing a skull neckpiece and rock jacket by c.Art

Diane Goldie fashion show at the Century Club, Shaftesbury Avenue, London

Silvia wears a Frida 50s dress , short Frida kimono jacket and vulva bag. All by c.Art. Headdress by Pearls and Swine.

Diane Goldie fashion show at the Century Club, Shaftesbury Avenue, London

Beattie modelling a coordinating Frida dress with long Erykah Badu kimono. Headdress by Pearls and Swine.

Diane Goldie fashion show at the Century Club, Shaftesbury Avenue, London

Jack in a very rock and roll long kimono with Grace Jones body paint image. Headdress by Hysteria Machine.

Diane Goldie fashion show at the Century Club, Shaftesbury Avenue, London

Magdalene in Sacred Heart sheer top , with neckpiece worn as g string, with a long Frida Kahlo kimono

Diane Goldie fashion show at the Century Club, Shaftesbury Avenue, London

Magdelene working the open heart theme.

Diane Goldie fashion show at the Century Club, Shaftesbury Avenue, London

Deborah doing fierce in heaven and hell kimono, and Baune altarpiece dress by c.Art

Diane Goldie fashion show at the Century Club, Shaftesbury Avenue, London

Modelling my own parrot dress and Carpe Diem Cape.

Diane Goldie fashion show at the Century Club, Shaftesbury Avenue, London

Jack wearing Wild Cat blazer.

Diane Goldie fashion show at the Century Club, Shaftesbury Avenue, London

Silvia in a 50s style c.Art dress with a short psychedelic themed cape. Headdress by Pearls and Swine

Diane Goldie fashion show at the Century Club, Shaftesbury Avenue, London

Beattie working my cosmic eye jacket. Headdress by Pearls and Swine

Diane Goldie fashion show at the Century Club, Shaftesbury Avenue, London

Scorpio wearing the skull blazer.

Diane Goldie fashion show at the Century Club, Shaftesbury Avenue, London

Jack in a Ferociously Flamboyant Kimono. Head wear by Pearls and Swine

Diane Goldie fashion show at the Century Club, Shaftesbury Avenue, London

Back view of Jack’s kimono

Diane Goldie fashion show at the Century Club, Shaftesbury Avenue, London

The finale. I was so proud of everyone.

 

Diane Goldie fashion show at the Century Club, Shaftesbury Avenue, London

I got a clap. Awwww.

The auction of the two pieces was very successful. A good amount of money was raised for the charity Women for Women International.

Diane Goldie fashion show at the Century Club, Shaftesbury Avenue, London

Here are the two beautiful women who won the pieces at the auction along with Nancy from Tengri and me. I’d lent my flowers to the lovely woman next to me for the photograph.

The night was beautifully ended off with a live performance by the wonderful Vince Kidd. His sweet soulful vocals touched us all. In fact it was the start of a beautiful friendship that night. The tribe grows. The love is spread.

12363061_1655229661414770_2296358001158388403_o

Lolo was thrilled . Two beautiful humans in one photo.

Wasn’t that just beautiful? I love you Vince. xx

1456755_10156404032210061_7932294020715550257_n

Nancy from Tengri, Me, Naomi of bookabeat, and Miss Baby Sol, singer and Tengri brand embassador.

I’d like to thank Naomi and Makeda Peter, the bookabeat twins for inviting me along to this event that was about women supporting women: a cause I can really get behind and Nancy of Tengri for the opportunity of collaborating for such  a good cause.   One of my favourite phrases is Sisterhood is Subversive.Sisterhood kimono Women bonding and supporting each other is a force for change, contrary to our conditioned response under Patriarchy to compete with and destroy each other.  I believe that through love and understanding and coming together as  a sisterhood we can really make a difference. Do you?

If you’re a social media animal like me, please come and join us on Facebook. 

We’re always looking for more humans to join our tribe. Let’s do this.

Leave a Reply

